<...>

day

2006-12-02 12:07 p.m.

Passed by a bunch of school-children that were probably playing hooky, and were probably too young to fully appreciate a day off. They were pointing at the Christmas lights along the streetlamps up and down Pratt Street. Admired the curious way the late November sunlight lingered on the tips of the small waves crashing against the cobblestone walkway at the harbor. My breath tasted like cigarettes; I don�t know why I cared so much. My blue and grey scarf did little to stop the bitter cold breeze that blew in from off water, so I imagined my breath was a baseboard heater. I cupped my hands inside my pockets and breathed out long, warm breaths. Admired the way my breath appeared and disappeared. I imagined myself as Houdini. Was interrupted by a homeless man asking for twenty-six cents for a quarter pounder at McDonald�s. I said that quarter pounders didn�t cost twenty-six cents. He told me to shut the hell up, what did I know.

I would have laughed at the irony, but my brain was really somewhere else. I haven�t figured out where. If you see it, let me know.


flickr . profile . notes . newest . older . host Site Meter