<...>

resurgence

2008-05-26 3:57 p.m.

I was doing so good kicking her out of my head. It wasn't mind-numbing at all, just like an illness slowly dying. Each day that went by I felt better and better. I couldn't imagine a process like that going any more smoothly. It felt like a healthy moving on.

She called me though, and my stupid ass picked up the phone only expecting a minimally involving conversation consisting of these lines:
"Hello."
"Hey, pretty good, and yourself?"
"That's cool."
"You too."
"Bye."

She told me I was on speakerphone because she was fixing something. I hoped someone else was in the room to hear me remind her of the time she sneezed and blew a fuckload of clear snot from her nose all over her hands, but it was just her. We both laughed on the phone just as we did when it actually happened.

I've always liked how she could always roll with a joke and not take everything I said so seriously. There have only been a few times I can recall her getting mad at something I said about her.

Like the time I was trashed drunk her in room with our hands against each other's and thought to myself, "Wow, she has those long and sexy fingers I think are hot as hell." I tried to convey that message to her but believe it was the booze that chopped it down to a very primitive and unflattering, "You have big hands." Totally not what I meant but that's what came out somehow. She said, "No I don't!" and curled in the covers facing away from me. I stroked her side a bit while laughing and explaining myself all the while knowing once I took my hand off her she'd turn back around and face me. Correct.


profile . notes . newest . older . host Site Meter